Love, Berries, your Facebook status, and God

25 Feb

Sometimes Facebook statuses that pretend to be public awareness campaigns do annoy me. When I put them in my status box, I know I’m doing it for the attention. There isn’t a single one of my friends that does not know of breast cancer or the importance of regular check-ups. What if the effect of these statuses (stata!) tends to be inciting overweening (ha! used that word!) teen male curiosity? Boo. ๐Ÿ˜€ But perhaps the point is to gradually make it so common an idea that everyone will one day say ‘Of course’ to ‘Have you had a mammogram?’

Well, at least, all the ladies.

The latest Facebook status rubric involving berries, no less, goes somewhat like this.

Blueberry: I’m single
Pineapple: It’s complicated
Raspberry: I’m a touch and go woman
Apple: Engaged
Cherry: In a relationship
Banana: I’m married
Avocado:ย I’m the “other one”
Strawberry: Can’t find the right one
Lemon: Wish I were single
Grape: Want to get married!

Pretty arbitrary, huh?! Although I do agree pineapples are complicated. Also that avocado simply shouldn’t be in there! If you know you’re the other, then you stop thinking about yourself as the other. You get out of it. You might even say ‘I was nearly the other, but I let go when I found out’ but seriously? Avocado?! Third – I’m pretty sure most women are a chunky smoothie of sorts on that list ๐Ÿ˜‰

For the record (or actually for the lack of it, in this context) I’m a cherry. In the biggest relationship ever, with Christ. I’m also a blueberry. I’m also an unconcerned strawberry because I just believe I cannot. It’s God who’ll do the finding. And that’s fine by me. He has a pretty detailed list from me anyway, which He probably already knew ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I love that it will make Him smile because of my silliness and trust.

In fact, for what it’s worth, my Facebook status is ‘in a relationship’ and has been for a long time! I guess I’m stubborn about the semantics, and reluctant to change the fresh, naive, smarty-pants answer a much, much younger me gave years ago. Because really nothing has changed from this status quo. It never will!

PS I just got the tag in my inbox ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nice timing.

Join the conversation?

