Are we standing yet?

17 Mar

I met a really lovely mother and son yesterday. Well, I have met them before a few times over the years. But yesterday was the first time I actually got to know her.

They were lovely. So lovely that I decided to give a bigger birthday present than I was intending to to the son! 🙂

She said something that struck me from what I knew about the family and the church they go to. She told me how her husband felt that God was telling her to go and see her sister – from Manchester to Florida.

But I had heard that the family – at least until recently – and the church they fellowshipped in were against the charismatic movement, and didn’t believe in the operation of the gifts… You can look it all up, if you like 😉

I have no idea if that is true or not of these friends. She was lovely about it and quite convicted. I am also saying nothing – at least, here  🙂 – about any particular denomination for good or bad.

But it does make me wonder – are we so stubbornly denominational that we get stuck on terminology? Are we closing ourselves to the things of God by not acknowledging other people’s ways of doing things, including worship? That if God can say something to us – w doubt that he says something to another? In a different way perhaps – or received differently?

There is much… flakiness… for want of a better word. But there is also much dogmatism that dogs our conversation with God. And I’m not making a doctrinal statement with these questions. Some doctrines I probably wouldn’t give an inch on.

But how much are we desecrating the church by these ideas of division?

Hhhmmm – I think I’ll do a slightly more ‘liturgical’ prayer meeting next week.

A house divided against itself will not stand…

2 Responses to “Are we standing yet?”

  1. Out of Eden Ministries March 18, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    “There is much… flakiness… for want of a better word. But there is also much dogmatism that dogs our conversation with God. And I’m not making a doctrinal statement with these questions. Some doctrines I probably wouldn’t give an inch on.”

    Amen! I wholeheartedly agree! Good post!

Join the conversation?

